Balletschool Attitude
Follow us on Facebook

Lotte Barnard (Bonheiden °1986)

Lotte grew up in a musical family. At age six, she started taking lessons at the music school of Bonheiden. A year later she chose (following the example from home) to learn the violin with J. Huybrechts. Three years later she continued her studies with F. Vos at the municipal conservatory in Mechelen.

Besides music, Lotte studied Educational Sciences at the University of Leuven. She now works as an assistant at the ‘Verwijzersplatform’, a small organization within the sector for assistance to disabled persons.

After obtaining her college degree, the craving for music struck again. In 2009, Lotte started training the cello at the conservatory in Mechelen with N. Stuyck, moved by the warm sounds of the cello.

Currently, Lotte combines this training with a place in the string ensemble attached to the conservatory. She also plays the cello in a folk group from Antwerp that alternates compositions with traditional folk melodies.

Lotte would now like to pass on her enthusiasm for the cello to others, teaching is a new challenge on her musical path!

Balletschool Attitude
Follow us on Facebook

Lotte Barnard (Bonheiden °1986)

Lotte a grandi dans une famille de musiciens. À six ans, elle débute à l’école de musique à Bonheiden. Suivant l’exemple à la maison, elle choisit pour instrument le violon qu’elle apprend avec J. Huybrechts. Trois ans plus tard, elle continue ses études avec F. Vos au conservatoire municipal à Malines.

Outre la musique, Lotte a étudié les Sciences Pédagogiques à l’Université de Louvain. Elle travaille comme assistante à la ‘Verwijzersplatform’, une petite organisation dans le secteur d’aide aux personnes handicapées.

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme universitaire, l’envie lui reprend de jouer de la musique. En 2009, Lotte recommence une formation, de violoncelle cette fois, au conservatoire de Malines avec N. Stuyck. Ce sont les sons chauds du violoncelle qu’elle a appris à aimer durant toutes ces années qui lui font faire ce pas décisif.

À l’heure actuelle, Lotte combine cette formation avec une place dans l’ensemble de cordes du conservatoire. Elle joue aussi le violoncelle dans un groupe folk anversois, qui alterne les compositions personnelles avec des mélodies traditionnelles folk.

Lotte aimerait maintenant transmettre son enthousiasme pour le violoncelle à d’autres, l’enseignement est un nouveau défi sur son chemin musical!